How much to re-program a Corsa C key? [Archive] - CORSA-C|UK

: How much to re-program a Corsa C key?



kineticz
05-02-2007, 16:50
Hi there chaps,
Does anyone have an idea as to what a Vauxhall dealer might charge for re-programming a Corsa C key so that it will work with my car? I can't find my spare :(

Cheers,
Dan :)

Phil_T
05-02-2007, 16:51
Ring up and ask, think it might be about 100 tho

kineticz
05-02-2007, 17:12
I have a key, just need it reprogramming

Doris
05-02-2007, 17:13
At least 50 puuuuuuuuuund.

L2UKS
06-02-2007, 00:04
i seen it done

something like putting it in the car, turning to position one

pressing the lock key

after that i forgot . . . . . . . . .

14N-FR
06-02-2007, 00:11
Costs £37 + VAT for VX to do it.

MarkyG
06-02-2007, 01:02
its in the manual and you don't need to pay, you can do it yourself.

RossSxi
06-02-2007, 01:31
its in the manual and you don't need to pay, you can do it yourself.

my mates key got crushed, so he can buy one from ebay and program it to his car from lookking at the manuel?

MarkyG
06-02-2007, 01:32
yer pretty much, or its in haynes or some expert will know. ive never looked into it but i KNOW you can do it without taking it to vaux.

LEE
06-02-2007, 07:24
mate p1ss easy, right put the key in ignition turn to position 1 or 2 cant remember that bit, then press lock then it should lock press unlock it should unlock then its coded to the car if in doubt fne vxl parts desk tell them you think your battery has gone cos you cant lock unlock your car but the light comes and tell them youve heard away to recode but cant remember it, thats how i found out

f3nton
06-02-2007, 07:53
If it is a totally new key then it has to be coded in with tech 2

sxi007
06-02-2007, 08:00
Just checked the car manual.

It reads:

synchronising remote control:


Switch on Ignition; system will then remain in synchronising mode for 30 seconds
Briefly press button (either open or close option) on the remote control unit while the unit is in the ignition.
The central locking system locks and unlocks to show that the remote control has been synchronised.

f3nton
06-02-2007, 08:05
Just checked the car manual.

It reads:

synchronising remote control:


Switch on Ignition; system will then remain in synchronising mode for 30 seconds
Briefly press button (either open or close option) on the remote control unit while the unit is in the ignition.
The central locking system locks and unlocks to show that the remote control has been synchronised.

Thats only synchronising a pre coded key back to the car!
Coding a new 1 in requires tech 2 as you need to programme in immobiliser codes etc!!

craigSXi
06-02-2007, 09:45
why not pull the chip out of the old key then put it into the new key then there is no need to get it reprogrammed. should work ok. pain in the ass that you can't code the vaux keys like the ford ones

kineticz
06-02-2007, 15:09
:D Thanks for all the replies lads

How would I go about doing this tech 2 then?

14N-FR
06-02-2007, 15:11
:D Thanks for all the replies lads

How would I go about doing this tech 2 then?

Vauxhall.

kineticz
06-02-2007, 15:21
So you can't manually code it with tech 2

marky mark
06-02-2007, 15:31
Your looking at around £50 but you can do it yourself, its in the haynes manual.

Doris
06-02-2007, 15:57
So you can't manually code it with tech 2

Tech 2 is the program vauxhall possess and use. As far as I know, you can't just buy it without paying a few quid.

kineticz
06-02-2007, 16:01
So it can't be done myself then with the Haynes manual, this is confusing :(

Doris
06-02-2007, 16:03
So it can't be done myself then with the Haynes manual, this is confusing :(

I don't think so but why not pop to Halfrauds and grab a quick read of a Haynes manual and see if it's in there. ;)

f3nton
06-02-2007, 20:06
Is it a brand new key?? Then it HAS to be coded into the car using tech 2

kineticz
06-02-2007, 21:53
Is it a brand new key?? Then it HAS to be coded into the car using tech 2

It's a key off ebay from another Corsa c so technically not brand new

f3nton
07-02-2007, 11:33
You'll defo need to take it to a vaxhall garage then mate

MarkyG
07-02-2007, 11:39
how can you code a key with tech 2? it plugs into an obd socket.

SXi-Dan
07-02-2007, 11:50
put the key in the car and tell the bcm / ecu to accept the keycode thats on the key.

f3nton
07-02-2007, 12:39
Then it will have 2 codes.. the original key and new one
You'll need original code to wipe new 1 i think...

kineticz
07-02-2007, 14:18
I really need to fork out for programming at the garage then don't I... :(

matt clarke
07-02-2007, 15:35
this is confusing. I doubt it can be done by your car, or anybody could clone your keys if they sat in your seat for 30 secs.

Although my original key is fooked, and i'm using the spare (luckily with RCL) so i'd like to know the official answer too. :dance:

kineticz
07-02-2007, 18:06
Well I've spoken to a mate who previously owned a Corsa C and he said it's in the manual (the whole insert into ignition and turn once etc etc thing).

I'm gonna give that a whirl

f3nton
07-02-2007, 19:38
:roll:

matt clarke
08-02-2007, 10:59
Well I've spoken to a mate who previously owned a Corsa C and he said it's in the manual (the whole insert into ignition and turn once etc etc thing).

I'm gonna give that a whirl

whirled it yet?

Pugh125k
08-02-2007, 12:35
whirled it yet?

its in the corsa c owners manual

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k279/K19UGH/08-02-07_1348.jpg

page 45 :-

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k279/K19UGH/08-02-07_1349.jpg

to synchronizing remote control:-

switch on ignition to second setting, system will then remain in synchronizing mode for 30 secs

briefly press open or closed botton or remote control while unit is in ignition

the central locking system locks & unlocks to show that the remote control has been synchronized

thats it well what it says in the book, any problems id give vauxhall a go or this company http://www.remotekey.co.uk/keyfob-FAQ/

hope this help u out!

f3nton
08-02-2007, 13:09
FFS!!! :banghead:
That only re-synchs a PREVIOUSLY coded key back to the car!! Like the key you got when you purchased the car!
A new key needs to be programmed in using tech 2 so that the ecu and bcm accepts the new key and things like the immobiliser function properly!

matt clarke
08-02-2007, 13:15
hmmmm

Gbrown247
08-02-2007, 14:36
Ive just had this done myself - I bought a key off eBay and took it to vx. I didnt have my immobiliser code so I got it off vx for £16. Took it back with the code a few days later (they rang me with the code) charged £25 to reprogram the key - if u need a new key then its an extra £22 on top of reprogram. They'll do it while-u-wait as well, when I took mine it took about 2 mins (but 20 mins for the car to actually be driven into the service area...!)

Hope this helps.

PS. I tried that synchronising thing beforehand...it didnt work

f3nton
08-02-2007, 14:47
Ive just had this done myself - I bought a key off eBay and took it to vx. I didnt have my immobiliser code so I got it off vx for 16. Took it back with the code a few days later (they rang me with the code) charged 25 to reprogram the key - if u need a new key then its an extra 22 on top of reprogram. They'll do it while-u-wait as well, when I took mine it took about 2 mins (but 20 mins for the car to actually be driven into the service area...!)

Hope this helps.

PS. I tried that synchronising thing beforehand...it didnt work

Thank you!! :yippe:
But i still reckon no 1 will believe this! :banghead:
25 to programme the key is shocking like... :censor:
We just get 1 of the apprentices to do it and tell the customer its a fiver!
Or i do it for 10 like :P