Standard radio/CD not working

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Standard radio/CD not working

  1. #1

    Join Date
    14-05-2009
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Standard radio/CD not working

    Before you all go in ahead, I have already done a search and found no threads relevant to my problem so here I am...

    I had my car taken into the garage to fix a few things for it to pass the MOT the other day.
    Since getting the car back, I have noticed my radio/CD which came standard with the car is now not working at all.



    Normally the whole dashboard lights up but only the circular (O/I) button lights up and none of the rest do. Neither does my on-steering wheel controllers to control the radio and things. Them buttons normally light up. (By the way, I've never been able to turn my radio/cd off with the O/I button)

    All the display shows is today's date, with the temperature and time!

    I don't want to take it back and get charged to fix it as I wasn't the one who did it! So is there anything I can do/check?

    Any help will be appreciated!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Corsa-C.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2

    Join Date
    11-12-2008
    Location
    Cheshire / Ellesmere Port
    Age
    23
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    have you tried pushing the button really hard? worked for me lol, sounds like the power buttons dodgey 2 me. and if the dates just displayed it means the radio is just powered off. it just needs a gud hard push / wak to get it on again !

  4. #3

    Join Date
    27-02-2007
    Location
    in my own little world
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    stupid question, but have you checked all the fuses? even the one 'hidden' by vauxhall behind then battery?

  5. #4

    Join Date
    24-01-2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this has happened to me now aswell, any way of fixing it?

  6. #5

    Join Date
    30-12-2009
    Location
    Preston , PR4
    Age
    21
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    they might have disconected the battery and put the headunit into safe mode when you first turn the ignition does it say safe on the mfd ??

  7. #6

    Join Date
    24-01-2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i changed the battery myself when it was dead. it doesn't say anything just the time, date and temperature

  8. #7

    Join Date
    30-12-2009
    Location
    Preston , PR4
    Age
    21
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you disonect the battery it puts it into safe mode and put a four digit code in , if you search for safe mode it might help you , this could be the problem not 100% though

  9. #8

    Join Date
    24-01-2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it happened before when safe mode came up on the display. i entered the code and it was fine... it doesn't say anything this time. Ive searched everywhere and tried a few things like holding the buttons etc but nothing works...

  10. #9

    Join Date
    30-12-2009
    Location
    Preston , PR4
    Age
    21
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i think theres a fuse in the back of it have you checked that ??

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Trusted Seller
    Pugh125k's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-12-2005
    Location
    near ludlow
    Posts
    24,204
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    try checking fuses

    or

    try resetting ecu just will need the cd code thou
    Do you need a new key part/complete new key or does it need repairing i do also have flip keys/standard cases for sale please feel free to pm me for a quote(s)
    please also take a min to have a look/like my facebook page https://www.facebook.com/pugh125k







  12. #11

    Join Date
    24-01-2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ive checked the fuses under the bonnet didn't know there was one in the back of it as well and how do i go about resettin the ecu? and the cd code, is that the radio code? sorry im a noob lol

  13. #12

    Join Date
    15-10-2007
    Location
    Halifax, West Yoirkshire
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well it sounds like its getting now power so I would check the fuses, also tru pulling the unit out and making sure its all plugged in!

  14. #13

    Join Date
    24-01-2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    its got power as theres a dimly lit light around the volume button. I'll try replace fuse but if that still doesnt work what am i best off doing? taking it to vauxhall?

  15. #14

    Join Date
    13-02-2011
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok ive got the same prob driving home radio died bo ho checked all fesses all ok taken radio out fuse on radio ok put multi meter there only 2.5 volts bo ho put a direct feed to it works but ive heard i could blow the bcm so diconected it bo ho so y is there only 2.5 volts there? were dose it get it feed from?
    thanks sandra x

  16. #15

    Join Date
    14-11-2009
    Location
    Uni of Herts, Hatfield
    Age
    21
    Posts
    2,337
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check fuses, 24, 35, 12 and 3

    Sounds silly but is the dimmer for the displays pushed all the way up?

    Edit, just realized you have hijacked an old thread

    It sounds like its not getting ignition power. Is it an aftermarket stereo?

  17. #16

    Join Date
    13-02-2011
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no standard radio as in the piccys earlyer!
    u mention igniction power? explain further please were i can check ect ect
    thanks sandra xx

  18. #17

    Join Date
    14-11-2009
    Location
    Uni of Herts, Hatfield
    Age
    21
    Posts
    2,337
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sandracdti View Post
    no standard radio as in the piccys earlyer!
    u mention igniction power? explain further please were i can check ect ect
    thanks sandra xx
    Have you checked those fuses? Also there is one behind the battery to check aswell iirc if you have a cdti

  19. #18

    Join Date
    13-02-2011
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cheched all fuses with a meter but didnt no about the hidden 1 behind the battery grr

  20. #19

    Join Date
    13-02-2011
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yep spot on fuse behind battery!!!!!!! top men . now just the central locking grrrr
    sandra xx

  21. #20

    Join Date
    24-01-2010
    Age
    25
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All fixed, the fuse behind the radio was the problem. Pulled radio out and changed fuse, Thanks for your help guys

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts