Vauxhall Corsa-C Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First some history.....

I've been given a 1.0 Corsa by my neighbour for my son to learn in, I originally advised neighbour to buy the car 10 years ago and it's been a great car. It has sat on my drive for 8 months with occasional start ups and runs up and down the drive (private road)
As my boy was approaching 17 I thought I'd make sure it was OK, and it sailed through MOT which was good!

The neighbour advised of a fault which happened twice during their ownership (and may or may not be relevant) where the car completely cut out and was cured by AA man bang on a particular part of the dash as 'it's a common fault with these'???

So I have been driving to work 30 miles daily for a few months and right from the start it's had what seemed like slight misfire.

It got full service, oil, filters, fuel filter, plugs and was no better.

Changed the coil pack, no improvement.

The misfire has slowly got worse

the car starts well and drives fine for 200 yds then it starts to misbehave, it is most noticeable under load, light throttle 2600 rpm, if you allow it to stay in this region the misfire becomes more pronounced and twice it has seemingly cut the throttle signal (ECU limp mode?) as the car just rolls to a stop, idles fine but will not rev. Ignition off and on cures fault and you can drive again with slight misfire as before.

Unplugged MAF, was better for a bit so I've changed MAF for new genuine, seemed better for a day and then back to the same misfire kangaroo petrol syndrome, barely noticable if you thrash it and keep over 3000rpm - not ideal for learner though!

I've just bought new injectors, but worried that this free car is starting to work out expensive as I keep throwing parts at it.