Vauxhall Corsa-C Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i just brought a 2005 corsa c 1.4 16v sxi. I drove it yesterday and it was completely fine. Loads of power and ran fine. Then i went to pick it up today after soring insurance and tax and i was driving it home and the idle started to get lumpy. It got worse over the next 5 minutes. It the stalled out. Started up and engine light was flashing. This then continued to happen as i stopped at lights. The engine light was then on solid and it was struggling to restart. It then completly died. Then engine was pulsing and idleing rough. Had no power and wouldnt accelerate. I have lots of mechanical knowledge but am completely new to corsas. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
Flashing lamp means misfire. Fuel trims went negative or positive so much that it does not ignite anymore.
Is it z14xe or z14xep?
Nevertheless, without faultcodes reading, you are in the dark.
Maybe try to read them by pedals method, google it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cheers. It was flashing and and it did sound like a missfire. Would that explain it struggling to start

·
Registered
1,331 Posts
If you bought it from the garage yesterday, handing it back is doubtless the best idea. In the meantime, have a good cuppa and Hobnob and read through some of the stickies (I think "common mechanical problems" is one).

The z14xe and z14xep are similar, but quite easy to tell apart from a look if you did get the bonnet up and compare what you saw with t'internet. The xep (pasted to save me typing) "used TwinPort technology – twin intake ports with a choke closing one of the ports at low RPM, providing strong air swirl pattern for higher torque levels and better fuel economy"